Home Malawi Opposition leader Lazarus Chakwera wins in historic rerun

Opposition leader Lazarus Chakwera wins in historic rerun

(FILES) In this file photo taken on June 20, 2020, Malawiís main opposition Malawi Congress Party, MCP, Leader Lazarus Chakwera who is leading the Tonse Alliance in the Presidential elections due on June 23, arrives at Mtandire locations in the suburb of the capital Lilongwe to hold his final rally. - Chakwera on June 27, 2020 was declared winner of this week's presidential election re-run with 58.75 percent of the vote according to the electoral commission said, AFP reports. (Photo by AMOS GUMULIRA / AFP)

Malawi’s opposition MCP party candidate Dr Lazarus Chakwera has won the Malawi presidential repeat election with 58.57 per cent of the vote, the electoral commission announced on Saturday.

Dr Lazarus Chakwera won the repeat Presidential poll with 2,604,043 of the overall votes ahead of the incumbent Arthur Peter Mutharika who received 1, 751, 877 votes.

His opponent Arthur Peter Mutharika had earlier on cried foul over presidential vote re-run describing the June 23 poll as the ‘worst ever in the history of Malawi’ but urged Malawians to remain calm and peaceful.

The elections on Tuesday were the fiercest the ruling party DPP faced after 14 years in power; eight years with the late Bingu wa Mutharika as President from 2004 to 2012 when he died in office, and six years under Bingu wa Mutharika’s brother Prof. Arthur Peter Mutharika who is the outgoing president.

Lazarus Chakwera lost to President Mutharika in 2019 before the constitutional court in Malawi cancelled Mutharika’s controversial victory and ordered a re-run poll.

He became the President of the opposition Malawi Congress Party in 2013. Chakwera has been serving as MP for Lilongwe Northwest constituency.

Clearly, it’s a defining moment for the opposition MCP party, and what has been regarded as a historic evening for Malawi by the electoral body, after the counting of all votes, the opposition party made a fierce comeback to triumph over Mutharika’s ruling party DPP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here