Home Politics #Voices: SA students not bothered by new cabinet

#Voices: SA students not bothered by new cabinet


Yesterday, the much-anticipated new cabinet of ministers was announced and social media was abuzz, but it seems like the youth doesn’t care that much.

The new cabinet includes Ronald Lamola (minister of justice), Patricia de Lille (minister of public works), Angie Motshekga (minister of basic education), Fikile Mbalula (minister of transport) Khumbudzo Ntshavheni (minister of small business development), and many more.

While it may have sparked debates on social media and left some with mixed feelings about their new leaders, the youth seems unmoved.

During the election time, many political analysts did share a deep concern that many “born-free’s” (born after 1994) are continuously shunning the elections and are losing hope in political leaders.

And a recent report published after the elections showed that there was only 6 million young people registered to vote in 2019 and more than half of 18 – 29-year olds were not on the voters roll.

A day after President Cyril Ramaphosa announced his ministerial cabinet, SADC News went around Braamfontein in Johannesburg, in universities and colleges and found a lot of students either didn’t vote or are just not bothered by the newly elected cabinet.

Mpilo Dimaza (22) who studies Public Relations at Rosebank College said he didn’t vote because he could not find his Identity Document (ID).

“Anyway, SA politics are not my thing,” said Dimaza, “they are just full of drama. That’s why I don’t know about the new cabinet because it’s never been my thing and I also didn’t hear anyone talk about it today.”

Kutwano Morare (21) who studies hospitality did vote, however he shared that he didn’t really keep up with what’s happening politically in the country.

“When I was voting I was hoping for change because we the youth is suffering,” he said.

“I was putting trust on the party I voted for to change the current unemployment situation but most importantly the fees issue. We are still struggling with NFSAS and some of us can’t afford to pay school fees.

“As for the new cabinet, I don’t have much interest in that. But I am still hoping for change.”

Amthi Khoza (18) whose is unemployed found the whole state of politics in SA a boring game that never changes.

“I don’t have interest because it’s the same old everytime,” she said. “You just can’t trust our politicians because there is never any change. That’s why I don’t even bother with politics because they are all the same to me.”

Katlego (20) from Damelin appeared to be frustrated by the current political climate in the country and revealed that he just does not want to part-take.

“I Don’t F### with politics. They don’t add anything to my life. Never voted. Don’t care!” he lashed out. “I also don’t know about the new cabinet, and I don’t care.”

Talent Shivambu (22) from University of Venda, who is currently in Johannesburg because she couldn’t raise funds to register this term, said she didn’t vote because politics have never done anything for her.

However, she was proud that Ronald Lamola from Venda was appointed the new Minister of Justice.

“I don’t know much about the new cabinet; I just heard a group of friends talking and they were talking about Ronald Lamola being appointed,” she said.

“I was so happy because I used to study at University of Venda with him. I am proud that he is representing Venda University because many people look down on it.”

As for the youth not voting or caring about their newly appointed leaders she said: “Nothing changes and so why should we care?”

Here is the full list of the new cabinet:

Deputy President: David Mabuza

Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development: Thoko Didiza

Minister of Basic Education: Angie Motshekga

Minister of Communications: Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula

Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries: Barbara Creecy

Minister of Employment and Labour: Thulas Nxesi

Minister of Finance: Tito Mboweni

Minister of Health: Dr Zwelini Mkhize

Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology: Dr Blade Nzimande

Minister of Home Affairs: Dr Aaron Motsoaledi

Minister of Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation: Lindiwe Sisulu

Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Dr Naledi Pandor

Minister of Justice and Correctional Services: Ronald Lamola

Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy: Gwede Mantashe

Minister of Police: General Bheki Cele

Minister in the Presidency: Jackson Mthembu

Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Minister of Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan

Minister of Public Service and Administration: Senzo Mchunu

Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure: Patricia De Lille

Minister of Small Business Development: Khumbudzo Ntshavheni

Minister of Social Development: Lindiwe Zulu

Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture: Nathi Mthethwa

Minister of State Security: Ayanda Dlodlo

Minister of Tourism: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane

Minister of Trade and Industry: Ebrahim Patel

Minister of Transport: Fikile Mbalula


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here