Home Politics ANC’s new parliamentary team

ANC’s new parliamentary team


Former National Council of Provinces (NCOP) chairperson Thandi Modise is expected to be the next Speaker of the National Assembly while Job Mokgoro will stay on as premier of North West.

The current deputy speaker of the assembly, Lechesa Tsenoli, will again be nominated as a deputy.

Amos Masondo is set to be the new chairperson of the National Council of Provinces, the current Northern Cape Premier Sylvia Lucas will be nominated to deputise him. The Chair of Chairs will be Nomvula Mokonyane.

The Chair of Chairs oversees parliamentary committees whose job is to conduct oversight on the Executive and government departments and institutions.

ANC Secretary General Ace Magashule said: “I’ve pleaded with the media not to judge her [Mokonyane]. Things are in process. And for now, as a collective, this is the decisions that we are taking. And I don’t think the collective can be wrong. There wasn’t a lot of discussion on this matter.”

The ANC’s highest decision-making body, the NEC met as the members of Parliament arrived in Cape Town in preparation for the sixth Parliament.

Cameron Dugmore will lead the opposition in the Western Cape.

Pule Mabe has been restored to being the full-time ANC spokesperson. Eastern Cape Public Works MEC Pemmy Majodina has been appointed as the ANC’s Chief Whip.

Several chairpersons of portfolio committees are not returning to Parliament after they were left off the ANC’s parliamentary and legislature lists.

Among those who are not on the list are chairpersons of the portfolio committees on labour Lemias Mashile, public enterprises’ Lungi Mnganga-Gcabashe and arts and culture’s Xoliswa Tom.

Acting chairperson of the justice committee, Madipoane Mothapo was also omitted. Yvonne Phosa, who chaired the standing committee on appropriations, is also not coming back to Parliament together with Phumzile Ngwenya-Mabila, who was chairperson of the committee on rural development and land reform.

The chairperson of the standing committee on international relations and co-operation, Siphosezwe Masango, will not be returning either.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here