Home Lifestyle List of South Africans awarded the Presidential honours

List of South Africans awarded the Presidential honours


Singer Yvonne Chaka Chaka, actress Mary Twala-Mhlongo were among the South Africans who received the National Orders from the President.

The national orders are awarded by the president to South Africans and foreign nationals who have actively used their work to improve the lives of South Africans and to advance democracy.

The list of awards includes the Order of Ikhamanga, the Order of the Boabab, the Order of Luthuli, the Order of Mapungubwe, Order of the Companions of OR Tambo and the Mendi Decoration for Bravery.

Yvonne Chaka Chaka received the Order of Ikhamanga in silver for her contribution to music and bringing social cohesion in South Africa.

The veteran singer was also awarded the Global Good Star Award at the BET awards in 2017.

Legendary actress Mary-Twala Mhlongo received the Order of Ikhamanda in silver for her work in film and Television. Mary Twala is most famous for her role in Sarafina, where she starred alongside academy award winner, Whoopi Glodberg.

Mathatha Tsedu also received the Order of Ikhamanga in Silver for dedicating decades to seeing the liberation of South Africans. He is the former editor of City Press and a former board member of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC).

A special award for bravery, the order of Mendi, was awarded to the Thapelo Tambani, a 9-year boy who drowned whilst trying to save a friend who had fallen into a construction pit. He made history as the youngest to ever receive the award.

See the full list of those who received the award:The National Orders 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here